Into the Wilderness

For me this painting really hits home. I spent many years in my lifetime backpacking, and as I would begin any number of journeys into the mountains I always felt as if I were coming home.

INTO THE WILDERNESS
Into the Wilderness | 36″ x 48″ | Acrylic on Canvas

On my recent trip to the Sierras this past fall we drove up to Glacier Lodge. This lodge was made famous by renown artist, Edgar Payne, who often stayed at the lodge and would horse-pack in from there to a group of lakes to paint in the great outdoors.

I arrived to this place in the late afternoon and hiked my way in just a bit. Standing along this trail gave me the feeling that I must come back to venture further down the trail. I wouldn’t be satisfied with just a few photos. Using the photo references of my experience from that day to create this painting left me with the same feeling I had standing on that trail, a deep desire to make it back to the wilderness and complete the journey that I was not able to finish at that time. Backpacking has a way of always stirring up a wonder of whats around the next bend in the trail, just as this painting leaves you with a feeling of what’s ahead as well!

Into the Wilderness is one of many new paintings of my latest experience in the beautiful Sierra Mountains.

Leave a comment